The Australian Football League has bankrolled the historic establishment of a 12th team in the state of Queensland, which is all reportedly part of the league’s ongoing aim to be known a truly national game. News broke yesterday that all 10 Victorian-based clubs would be moving north to Queensland for the remainder of the 2020 AFL season, as our state continues to grapple with a second wave of COVID-19 infections.

However, a source close to the AFL claims the move is simply part of the league’s long-term plan to establish more teams across Australia to bolster its reputation as the country’s number one football code. According to the anonymous source, “Queensland has long been the final frontier of Aussie Rules in this country, so to be known as a truly national competition we’ve always strived to have at least 12 teams based in Queensland. This is a significant step in furthering that stranglehold.”

If true, the official establishment of a 12th team in Queensland is a bold move by the AFL, considering they’ve spent much of the last 10 years financially propping up the Gold Coast Suns who were, at the time, just the state’s second team.

More to come.